Over the Edge | Junior Achievement of South Texas | San Antonio Sports


Nominations Open for 2018 San Antonio Sports Hall of Fame

It's that time of year again to nominate talented athletes and sports professionals for the San Antonio Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2017.

The San Antonio Sports Hall of Fame, a partnership of San Antonio Sports, the San Antonio Express-News, and the City of San Antonio, was founded in 1995 and recognizes those who have made an impact in the world of sports, either through outstanding athletic achievements or outstanding contributions to athletic programs, and have ties to San Antonio.

Nominations must be received by July 14 to be considered. Nominees must have lived in the Greater San Antonio area and have made an impact in their sport, either by competing at the highest possible level or by helping others do so.

The nominee must be a Greater San Antonio native or his or her primary athletic fame must have come while living in the area. Those still actively participating in their sport are not eligible for consideration. It is not necessary to re-nominate people already on the list.

Names submitted will be entered into consideration for the nomination list if they are received by the deadline of July 14. To nominate a former athlete, coach, team or special contributor, go to mysa.com/HOFNominate.

Once all nominations are received, the selection committee will choose the top five candidates in various categories. The committee's recommendations are then sent to the San Antonio Sports Hall of Fame board of directors for final approval. The Class of 2018 will be announced in the fall, with the formal induction ceremony scheduled for Jan. 27, 2018. Plaques of all the Hall of Fame members are on display at the Alamodome.



Mel Barborak
Jim Brandenburg
Tim Derk
Bruce Fink
Emilie Burrer Foster
Bill Hanson
Peggy Hosek
Jay Howard
Elmer Kosub
Robert Marbut, Jr.
Bob Mickler
George Pasterchick
Burl Yarbrough


Samuel "Sandy" Adelman
Louise Allen
Dick Bartel
Stan Bonewitz, Jr
Devin Brown
Rick Bullock
Jenny Carnes
Keith Cash
Kerry Cash
Keith Edmonson
Dr. Jaime Garza
Leslie Mackey
Wane McGarity
Robert Reed
Randy Reina
Roger Soler


Frank Connor
Mike Coolbaugh
Coby Dietrick
Jeff Foster
Danny Heep
Joe Jimenez
Wade Key
Anjanette Kirkland
Rick Mahler
Shawn Michaels
Mike Mitchell
Fred Patek
Todd Pletcher
Robert Reid


Ralph Alspaugh
Mike Ayala
Pat Bailey
Carol Barrett
Victor Castillo
Mel Corbo
Jim Gerhardt
Phil Harris
James Hill
Betty Jean Dobbins
Randy Johnson
Russell "Rusty" Lyons
Bob Ostrum
Jim Potter
Pat Rockett
Semp Russ
Harold Scherwitz

Special Contributor

Dr. Robert Cade
Gordon Hartman
Robert McDermott
W. Lawrence "Larry" Walker

Team Nominees

1943 Lanier Voks Boys Basketball
1947 Brackenridge Eagles Football
1967 South San Bobcats Baseball
1972 Trinity Tigers Men's Tennis
1976 Churchill Football
1979 USA Modern Pentathlon World
1983 Judson Rockets Football
1989 Winston Churchill Swim Team
1995 East Central Basketball
1999 Spurs Basketball
2001 St. Mary's University Baseball
2016 Trinity University Baseball



Some nominees from past years have been removed from the list because they didn't receive the minimum number of votes required. They will not be eligible for consideration for three years. The list below indicates the year these nominees will again be eligible for induction.


1987 Bilbrey Lumber Co. Baseball
2007 NW Little League Girls Softball
2007 Trinity University Football
David K Darr
George Forehand
Jay Howard
Moesha Hubbard
Ken Kelly
Deirdre Jackson McKinley
Dr. A. Marcus Nelson
Dr. John E. Peterson




Joe Carmack
Gabriel Diaz De Leon
Wayne Dickey
Dolores Dyer
Ronald Faught
John Ferrara
Wally Groff
Malcolm Kirven
Anne Krueger
Dos Lemus
Igo Mendoza
Ed Messbarger
Roger Metzger
John Newman
Rick Nixon
Charles "Bo" Outlaw
Mark Papich
Chris Pryor
Pete Ramirez
Dr. Victor Rodriguez
Charles Rouse
Lupe Ruiz
Hensley Sapenter, Jr.
Wayne "Red" Shaw
Damon Tassos
Lee Wheeler
Richard Zamora
Leif Zars
Leonard Zuniga
1962 GW Brackenridge HS Football
1967 SA Toros Football
1968 GW Brackenridge Football
1968 Highland Owls Baseball
1987 Alamo Heights Boys Soccer
2002 John Jays Boys Basketball
2002 Reagan High School Girls Swim